Share  Print Version  Email

Other Translations

Qatar's International Agreements


Some of the most important agreements that Qatar has entered into with the international community include:

  • Membership in the World Trade Organisation (WTO).
  • Membership in the United Nations and its affiliate organizations and authorities including the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA).
  • Membership in the League of Arab States.
  • Pan-Arab Free Trade Area.  The other member countries are Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, UAE and Yemen.
  • Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC).  The other members are Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia, and UAE. One of the most significant agreements of the GCC is the GCC Common External Tariff Law No. (41) of 2002 which implements the GCC unified customs tariff in Qatar.  The GCC has also signed trade agreements such as the free trade agreement with the European Free Trade Association (EFTA).  Click here to view that agreement.
  • Bilateral Investment Treaties (BITs) with countries including China, France, Germany, India, Italy, South Korea and Turkey. BITs are agreements between two countries for the reciprocal encouragement, promotion and protection of investments in each other's territories by companies based in either country.  Click here to access all of Qatar’s Bilateral Investment Treaties.
  • Double tax treaties.  As at January 2012, Qatar had double tax treaties in force with the countries shown in the table below. A summary of some of Qatar’s international tax agreements can also be seen on the Ministry of Finance website.


 Share  Print Version  Email
Ratings (1) Overall  
  • Currently 5.0/5 Stars.
If you are a human, do not fill in this field.
Click stars to rate.